Curved Pieces

…curved pieces from straight wood.

This is not normally a good idea, cutting through many fibers, exposing end-grain to let in moisture and the beginning of wood degradation. It’s what the boat builders have learned over the eons and why my sawer has some of that wood in a pile round the back for them to choose from.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The shapes and arcs are specific and so when you got the knowledge you can look through  the pieces and you have visualized already just where they will go.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The boat builder can read the codes embedded and make perfect sense out of a stack of twisted branches…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

…and stems.

But that’s not me, my desires are more general, I just want stuff that’s not straight mostly for the effect though practicality comes into play as well.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe sawer has sawn the stems I have indicated will suit me fine, to dimensions I can get to play with.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And at home I have my own wood stack out the back and decide it might be a good thing to try out with one good piece lying there some years now.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAExcept my methods are more free-handed.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI do come away about with what I expectedOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And the beginnings of something promising.

.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2 thoughts on “Curved Pieces

Leave a Reply

