More, “Van de Kammer”

It is tempting for me to lay the claim that after preparing my material I have stacked it carefully in a dry, darkened corner out of the way in order to give my wood the time it needs to acclimatize prior to installation when the truth of the matter is, other things came up to divert my good intentions of getting the front room finished so the family does not constantly end up cramming itself into the smaller room for that time at home spent in togetherness. So much for well intended motives and good planning and preparation.

Here I am back at it again. Pulling out the profiled oak wainscot material and putting it in its place.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Before

The wall does suffer from dampness and I hope re-plastering the outside with lime will allow it to dry sufficiently from now on. Further what you are looking at is the nailer attached to the brick for hanging the wainscot and more interesting the original baton for attaching a linen mesh under-ground as backing for the wallpaper. Also the original lime plaster carrying its own not uninteresting signs of past use patterns of this room. It is a real shame how so much of this can and does get discarded into the dust bin of history in a typical domestic renovation job. The truth is people are most apt to respond with an insincere, “How interesting” a shrug and then, “Trash it for me will ya.”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The installation under way

I got no bag of tricks or anything up my sleeve for executing this work, it’s not the kind of work I do so much that I need such a bag.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Lacking only in its baseboard
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Absolutely no sand paper.

Sand paper not needed because no power router got used, only a shard of glass to make that last profile to the right there.

BDS

 

E.dB.

4 thoughts on “More, “Van de Kammer”

  1. This is the stock you showed going across your jointer? Nice profile, the wall should look really great when you’re done. I need to make myself finish some of the things begun in my house.

  2. Yes, thinking back that far, this wood is from that video. I like the profile too, it’s made by a Norwegian plane. I know what you mean about getting over that last hump of actually finishing a job.

  3. I love it. Will be a perfect reading room once it’s done. About that plane, is one cutter for the all the profile or a moulding and a beading? I ask since the trimmings in my house look like made with several planes, or at least that’s my plan to reproduce them.

  4. Hi Sebastian,
    For the most part made with one plane with a single cutter. The exception is the last plank fitted against the wall. This I made with a hollow, then scored the two ridges at the sides of the rounding with a narrow cutter in the combination plane and sawed them out on an angle with the azebiki and finally got the ” V ” profile I wanted by scraping out the kerfs with a pointed piece of broken glass, I’m sure you get it by now.

Leave a Reply

