The Old and The Older

The old, windows in my front room that need reparation. The older, wood I will use to spice in where rotted sections are removed.

There is just no alternative to it, this old-growth conifer wood out of the pacific northwest. Wood so dense and consistent that it can be like planing plastic, but then plastic that has grown itself over hundreds of years in harsh yet ideal conditions and gives off such a good smell when you cut into it, is hard and yet cuts easily leaving a glass like sheen as a result.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Dense old-growth conifer wood

What a shame that it is a resource of the past, exploited beyond sustainable use by industrial capitalists, in reality stolen for the sake of money.

But when we run across some in our work, it’s time to make a good use of it and most of all enjoy this great material.

4 thoughts on “The Old and The Older

  1. Nice work, Ernest. It is good to see those old window frames given a new lease on life.

    I happened upon a small cache of similarly dense southern yellow pine here in the States that an older gentleman was looking to get rid of. I wish that I would have purchased more than I did. I have also used it for repairing some of my window sills.

  2. I can see that I should have tried harder to splice in new pieces on some of the wooden items I just replaced from scratch. I’ve been making the new barn windows (there never were any where these are going, so nothing to repair) from cypress, probably not very good quality so a bit soft and fuzzy as it works. It should hold up, though.

  3. John, the first window I did which is the twin of the one pictured got a new bottom rail from that old wood. Then I thought, “well, I can do better than this in both keeping more original material and saving on my old stock”. Even the result was an improvement the second time around and goes to show, the first thing is to keep as much original material as possible.

  4. I think you are right to call it southern yellow pine P. M. B.. Wood under this name for a collection of woods was heavily imported into Holland through the 1800s. The old growth bearing no resemblance to plantation grown stuff that’s now available.

Leave a Reply

