Wall Covering the Second Time ‘Round

I have ripped off the wall paper and linen backing that was there in the beginning exposing the plastered walls and support battens for the re-wall papering.

 

Re-papering begins with stretching linen across these battens.

 

To this permeable sub-strata is the plain brown backing paper pasted.

 

After which time the final more decorative and eye pleasing and also more costly wall-paper is hung also by pasting.

Please accept that this is an early technique of room beautification, cleverly conceived to achieve the most refined results under particular conditions.

 

BDS

(Guess I won’t get accepted at the entry points of Israel now).

10 thoughts on “Wall Covering the Second Time ‘Round

  1. Thanks. The back is nice, must be 50 kg or more of cast iron. Equally interesting but more difficult to make out in the photo is the floor iron which is there to protect the old tiles, bedded loose on a layer of sand and which I found up in the attic. It’s much older, cast with a lip around the edges to contain the ash which is mostly worn away. You can zoom in and see an old forged chain which is hanging from a thick iron bar bricked into the boezum (sorry, I can’t think of the English name anymore John) so’s I can dangle a pot or kettle or the like there if that fancy strikes me too. The andirons are a gift from Bernard that were laying around his smederij and which he has modified to fit my space better, still they are a bit big for there but I like them all the same and am getting all set up so’s I can roast the pig roast next winter on the spit. Maybe I’ll end up doing that at the same time as smoking the worst & ham ‘n stiff up in the spekkast, (another one of those words where I never did learn the English version or forgot it).

  2. chimney breast and smoke house or chamber (bacon chest literally?) I would guess. All very nice. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a floor iron. How fortunate that it was still in the house!

  3. I think you understand what it’s about. The floor is yet more interesting in that there is a sort of hole in the ground under there and it is bricked on four sides and the bottom (kolkie)*, Unfortunately my iron cover is not the original. That one had a removable grate to let ash fall into this hole to get emptied out at the end on the year – everything went according to yearly cycles here, right? I found it sinful to destroy this ash hole (sorry to sound a bit vulgar about it) so I covered it with sheet iron before filling up the hole with the sand bed for the tiles. Now if I ever do find the right bottom, (vuurplaat/rooster they call it)*, I can restore the old system. Realistically I’ll leave that for some other generation.

    H Janse, S De Jong – Houten Huizen, 1974

Leave a Reply

